HDIC kicks off in Montreal

January 7, 2006

 

HDIC, originally uploaded by iwocpo.

It’s Hockey Day in Canada. Coverage started at 1pm EST with reports from all over the country. The day on CBC (and on Direct TV, Channel 765) looks like this:

12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT
Hockey Day in Canada: Live from Stephenville, NL

12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT
Live chat: Don Cherry

2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT
Ottawa @ Montreal

3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT
Live chat: Kelly Hrudey

5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT
Hockey Day in Canada: Live from Stephenville, NL

6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT
Saturday Night

7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
Toronto @ Edmonton HD

10 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. PT
Calgary @ Vancouver

1 a.m. ET / 10 p.m. PT
After Hours

There is nothing that compares to this in the United States, at least not anything on an annual basis. The entire nation devotes a day to hockey, and CBC does a great job exploring the impact the sport has had on the every day life of the average Canadian.

Following a week where it was easy to point a judgmental finger in their direction, this event is something we as hockey fans should all celebrate.

No major sport in the world has the character and class of athlete hockey does. If there’s any question where those values come from, HDIC answers it for you.

They’ll be having reports from all over Canada in between periods of the three games today and between the games, themselves. It’s unfortunate that the only Americans who will watch it are those of us who have already claimed the sport as our favorite.

For more on Hockey Day in Canada…

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s