No looking past the Blues

January 5, 2006

On a different level, tonite’s game against St. Louis may be just as important as tomorrow’s showdown in Nashville.  Here’s why:

  • Points in the bank.  Every missed opportunity is going to hurt as the Wings and Preds go neck and neck for the division and possibly the number 1 seed.
  • These frigging slow starts.  Hopefully, they charge out of the room tonite and start a new trend, regain some good habits.  The quotes from the players this  morning were not exactly encouraging, however.  If they don’t understand the problem, it can’t be easy to fix.  From the Freep:

“I can’t answer that, because I don’t remember what we did differently,” Henrik Zetterberg said.

“Tough to say,” Nicklas Lidstrom said. “It’s tough to pinpoint what’s different, really.”

Well, Nick…getting beat in the corners to every puck the first ten minutes of every game may be an indication.  Getting some presence in front of the net may help too.

  • Health.  Rest Shanahan.  If his back’s hurting him, sit him and don’t take any chances. 
  • And, of course, the situation.  Both are healthy. The competition for the number 1 job would seem to be starting tonite.  If Legace, despite what hockey savant Art Regner says, stands on his head tonite, I’m thinking he may get the start tomorrow.  If he lets in three, we’ll probably see Osgood.

Oh, and here’s my wife’s reaction to these back to back games.  “Games tonite AND tomorrow?  Oh….lucky me.”

3 Responses to “No looking past the Blues”

  1. JDunc Says:

    good comments, I love the blog – first thing I check each day. I love the wife’s comments… I was all geared for this week… hockey practice monday, wings game tuedsay, download plugs for NHL 06 wednesday, Wings game thursday, Wings game Saturday, hockey practice saturday, Wings game / my game sunday. By sunday night I’ll be sleeping on the couch.

    its worth it

  2. iwocpo Says:

    I hear ya. My wife just started watching hockey this year. Forcing her to watch the Wings three times a week for 7 months is probably not the healthiest way to start a marriage, but she’s a trooper.

    Thanks for the kind words regarding the blog.

  3. JDunc Says:

    I’m just married too, and if I had thought about it more, I would have pushed or wedding date back a little… Our honeymoon was in Traverse City a week before training camp, and we were at the same hotel the Wings stayed in.

    now that probably wouldn’t have been the best way to start a marriage haha, but yeah. I hear ya, I’m in the same boat.

Leave a Reply

